Flower Explosion (or “Bloom Boom!”)


This is another Box-fold pop-up card. This card shows how the same mechanism used in the Pile of Gifts card can be used to create a far more elaborated and impressive card. I decided to work with a color combination I don’t usually use – yellow and brown. I never use yellow, so, to make life easier, the colors I chose are not very saturated, the brown is grey-ish and the yellow is pale. I wanted to use colors that are less expected of such a floral card.
To enhance the element of surprise, I made the card’s outer side very clean and simple. Nothing about that minimalist design can prepare you for the rich Bloom-Boom of the inside!

Now for some how-to tips (sorry for the poor quality of the photos, they were taken late at night):

The card is a very basic Box fold, you can follow the tutorial.

Glue the folded interior paper to the chosen exterior paper. DON’T adhere the box fold!

At this point any decorating elements will do. I chose to stamp with a collection of SU floral stamps. Cut them out.

Use the Box fold as a shelf and glue a few of the larger elements to it, at different depths.

The first few elements that were attached to the box fold are the base- on top of (and behind) them glue the rest of the cut out elements, gradually. Don’t forget to open and close the card every once in a while, to check out the pop up effect you’ve accomplished and to see what your composition is lacking.

11 Responses to “Flower Explosion (or “Bloom Boom!”)”


  1. 1 me81 May 9, 2010 at 19:35

    יצא פשוט מהמם,
    איזה רעיון יפה והביצוע מושלם.
    כל הכבוד על היצרתיות, את עושה חשק לנסות גם…

    שילוב צבעים יפה ועדין- מקסים.

  2. 2 הגר May 9, 2010 at 20:14

    את פשוט מלכת הפופ-אפים !
    תודה על הדרכה מושקעת ויפה…
    הכרטיס של הפרחים פשוט יפיפה !

  3. 4 יותר מסתם יעל May 9, 2010 at 21:23

    איזה יופי!
    חגיגי, שמח, ומלא בצבעים חמים.
    יופי של כרטיס, ויופי של הדרכה.
    תודהה.

    יעל

  4. 5 Wintam May 10, 2010 at 01:08

    כרטיס מדהים! נכון, כבר ראיתי פופ אפים, אבל זה מתעלה על רובם – עשיר אבל נקי, מפתיע בלי להיות קיטש. וההסבר ברור ועושה חשק להתנסות. נו מה, בטח שנרשמתי לעדכונים… (-:

  5. 6 Michal Shoval May 10, 2010 at 06:32

    thans for the training – I think I will try it!

  6. 7 Creative Mind March 3, 2011 at 16:50

    so cute..thanks for sharing this

  7. 8 Brett May 10, 2011 at 04:14

    I just started getting into card making. I made my first pop up card for mothers day. And I want to make more. I found this through a google search and I just love your flower design. I love the colors! Thanks for the tutorial as well to help pop up beginners like me!

  8. 9 Anonymous August 15, 2011 at 02:14

    thanks so much for sharing your awesome works!

  9. 10 maria August 9, 2012 at 15:34

    this is so beautiful, your whole blog is just amazing, you have great talent😀


  1. 1 Scrappy pin-hole camera « the Little Green Box Trackback on May 28, 2010 at 12:37

Leave a Reply

My Name is ShirA. This is my personal blog, where I share my love for paper craft, hand made creations and all things beautiful.

You can contact me at:
shira.littlegreenbox@gmail.com

PLEASE do not publish photos, tutorials and text from this blog without my permission.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Flickr

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-3

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-2

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-1

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-12

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-11

More Photos

