A Serious Dilemma

“Purim”, my favorite holiday in the world, is coming up soon. For those of you who don’t know, “Purim” is the Jewish holiday that’s probably the closest to Halloween. On Purim’s week I try to go to as many costume parties as I can, always making sure to have a super cool, crafty, original outfit! I’m not sure if it’s the dressing-up, the DIY or the “feel free to carry enormous fake weapons” that makes this holiday my favorite. I guess it’s simply the joyful atmosphere, having grown up people fooling around in the streets, letting their imagination go wild.

Now, I usually have an idea for a costume at least 6 months in advance, so I can work on it as long as I need… The tradition for the past ten years includes my sister and I spending days at my parents’ house, turning the basement into a Purim sweatshop (and my mom into a living sewing-machine…). The result – a costume that is completely hand made, unique and awesome!

Here are some examples of our costumes from the past few years:

In 2007 Ari and I were Kong-Fu fighters! I drew dragons on our clothes and added lots of black and red accessories.

2008 was the year of the Vikings (I LOVED this costume!). I dyed some fabrics, sew all our clothes, used hot-glue gun on everything and- voila! The most vicious warriors of the western world! Some of the “metal” pieces are made of Fimo, colored in gold.

In 2009 we were space invaders. It was really cool! Our suits were black and silver, we had space weapons (very useful against the human race) and acid green accents all over. I made a cute little space-pet as a hairpiece.

2010 was the era of the Aztecs. I made our outfits from dyed fabric and fake suede, the head pieces from leather leftovers and the jewelery from Fimo (drawn on with acrylic paint, to imitate the vanes of the turquoise stone…). The fake tattoos I drew on our arms lasted for a week and looked real good!

Now- the big dilemma – what shall I do this year?!?! I’ve been asking myself this question since October… HELP! If you have any brilliant ideas, please feel free to comment๐Ÿ™‚

ShirA

4 Responses to “A Serious Dilemma”


  1. 1 Michal Shoval February 5, 2011 at 16:46

    Mr. and Mrs. Obama…
    :-)))
    Get some fancy suits and some heavy make-up and go for it!

  2. 2 hagitroz February 5, 2011 at 18:46

    OK, I don’t care what you do, I know it’ll be stunning! :-))) Those are some fantastic costumes, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what you come up with! (bride and groom? ;-)) – I’m the type who either doesn’t go out on Purim, or wears a feather scarf, or excessive make up. :-))

  3. 3 ืœื™ืื•ืจ February 11, 2011 at 21:14

    ืืขืŸ ืœื™ ืจืขื™ื•ื ื•ืช ืœืฆืขืจื™…ืื‘ืœ ื”ืชืžื•ื ื•ืช ืžื”ืฉื ื™ื ืฉืขื‘ืจื• ืคืฉื•ื˜ ืžื“ื”ื™ืžื•ืช! ื”ื›ืฉืจื•ืŸ ืฉืœืš ื ื“ื™ืจ!!! ืžื—ื›ื” ืœืจืื•ืช ื‘ืžื” ืชืคื’ื™ื–ื™ ื”ืฉื ื”.
    ืืช ืžืฉื”ื• ืฉื™ืจื”!!
    ืœื™ืื•ืจ(ื—ืชื•ืœื™8)

  4. 4 ShirA February 12, 2011 at 02:18

    ืชื•ื“ื” ืœื™ืื•ืจ! ื”ืืžืช ื”ื™ื ืฉื ืจืื” ืœื™ ืฉืžืฆืืชื™ ืจืขื™ื•ืŸ ืžื’ื ื™ื‘, ืขื›ืฉื™ื• ืจืง ืฆืจื™ืš ืœื‘ืฆืข…


Leave a Reply

My Name is ShirA. This is my personal blog, where I share my love for paper craft, hand made creations and all things beautiful.

You can contact me at:
shira.littlegreenbox@gmail.com

PLEASE do not publish photos, tutorials and text from this blog without my permission.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Flickr

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-3

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-2

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-1

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-12

little_green_box-Thailand-popup-11

More Photos

