My Pop-Up Wedding Invitation!

I’ve planned this pop-up invitation for so long, I couldn’t believe I finally pulled it off! First of all I have to come clean- not all of our many many guests got this version. Only 50 lucky people (family and close friends) received these hand-made beauties, while the rest of our guests got a delicate printed graphic interpretation of the same images. Another confession I must make- I didn’t do this alone. My good friend Avital was with me through the whole process…

The dancing couple are of course Ari and myself, so I was very pleased when people were able to recognize us easily. The figures and trees were laser cut and assembled by hand. We’re getting married at a place called “Baya’ar”, which means “In the Forest” in Hebrew. It’s a beautiful place at the heart of a forest, all surrounded by trees. The branches theme goes all the way to the center pieces at the wedding (and besides, I’m quite obsessed with branches graphics…).
The back of the invitations is made of textured card-stock in deep, dark purple. When you take it out of the envelope it’s blank, dark and unexpected, nothing prepares you for the surprising content… The envelopes and interior, as well as the laser cut images, are made of a special, silky-smooth ivory shaded paper. The invitation is both in Hebrew and Spanish, because Ari is from Uruguay (and because I found the symmetry lovely…).

Hope you love it as much as I do!
Big day is coming up real soon 😉

ShirA




22 Responses to “My Pop-Up Wedding Invitation!”


  1. 1 Dorly Weitzen June 16, 2010 at 19:56

    These hand-made and specially designed invitations are unique and fabulous! I hope your wedding will be just as beautiful. Congratulations!
    Dorly

  2. 2 מימס June 16, 2010 at 20:47

    רעיון סופר מקורי ונזמנה בלתי נשכחת
    גללתי בבלוג המקסים שלך
    כשקראתי על הרקע שלך, הבנתי מהיכן הדיוק והסדר בעבודות המקסימות שלך !ץ

  3. 3 חגית June 17, 2010 at 05:48

    מדהים!!!!!
    איזו השקעה ואיזה תוצר עדין ויפהפה!
    מזל טוב!!

  4. 4 tamari* June 17, 2010 at 09:02

    וואו, יצירת אומנות!
    אני מאוהבת בהזמנה- כל כך עדין ויפיפה!
    איפה חתכת את הדגמים הקטנים מהנייר?

    • 5 ShirA June 17, 2010 at 15:16

      לשמחתי עברי כסטודנטית לאדריכלות לא היה לשווא, הפעלתי קשרים בבצלאל וחתכתי במכונת הלייזר של המחלקה לאדריכלות

  5. 6 michali June 18, 2010 at 10:10

    יפיפה ומיוחד, גם לי יש חולשה לענפים… בטוחה שהחתונה שלכם תהיה יפה לא פחות 🙂

    • 7 Avital Manor July 6, 2010 at 13:13

      באמת הייתה חתונה מקסימה (והכלה אפילו עוד יותר) ולי היה ממש כיף לעבוד על זה איתך:-)
      מזל-טוב שירונת (במלרע)

  6. 8 tiffany December 6, 2010 at 19:35

    Your cards are beautiful. I love them. So, you used laser cut for the figures and trees. Can you tell me where you order those customized laser cut ? Thanks a lot

    • 9 ShirA December 7, 2010 at 06:58

      Well, i’ve created the Coral Draw file myself. A friend took our picture dancing, then I used Photoshop to create the sillohette. The tree sillohette- I simply draw by hand. My friend Avital helped me to create the full composition and turned both sillohettes into Coral file (you can use Free Hand or Illustrator programs). I took the ready made file for lazer cutting (Many places can give you this survice, just google it).
      I guess that all you need to create this is a tallented friend who is a graphic designer or illustrator, to help with the graphic programs.
      Hope I helped!

  7. 11 Crystal October 23, 2011 at 03:39

    Would you maybe be willing to give me some tips on how you made this card? My youngest sister has fallen in love with them and is getting married next november.

  8. 12 Crystal October 25, 2011 at 01:39

    Thanks for your help. Could you tell me what paper you used for the cut outs? They are two separate pieces right? Unfortunately, something about my computer won’t let me view Martha’s How-To. 😦

  9. 13 Invitaciones November 16, 2011 at 18:08

    They are beautiful! Congrats, It’s the first time I see pop up wedding invitations and they are wonderful.

  10. 14 Alisha July 18, 2012 at 12:55

    its pretty. i love pop ups and all my senses go on high alert when i see something like pop-up wedding invitations.

    i designed these for my sisters wedding about 3 years ago. was quite a trick and a lot of trouble but at the end of it i felt very proud of the accomplishment.
    https://picasaweb.google.com/117689295395327192735/InvitationsWedding#5501382368625133922
    there were about 1500 invitations printed (yes unfortunately we have ridiculously large weddings…that and i have to take into account the delicate connections and therefore the wastage rate it would have) but most survived. also i went and mended almost every one that broke so hardly any were unusable.

    she got married in front of this chapel
    https://picasaweb.google.com/117689295395327192735/InvitationsWedding#5501382337399884786

    which i tried to recreate.

    it had the intended effect because it sparked something in even the dreariest of guests when they opened it. pop-ups have that ability to bring out the child-like wide-eyed-wonder in most of us.

    now i\’m getting married and ive been working on something that springs up for that too. was a challenge but its fun!

  11. 15 Alisha July 18, 2012 at 12:59

    its pretty. i love pop ups and all my senses go on high alert when i see something like pop-up wedding invitations.

    i designed these for my sisters wedding about 3 years ago. was quite a trick and a lot of trouble but at the end of it i felt very proud of the accomplishment.
    https://picasaweb.google.com/117689295395327192735/InvitationsWedding#5501382368625133922
    there were about 1500 invitations printed (yes unfortunately we have ridiculously large weddings…that and i have to take into account the delicate connections and therefore the wastage rate it would have) but most survived. also i went and mended almost every one that broke so hardly any were unusable.

    they were die-cut and each hand folded/’popped’. thanks to some shortcuts the printer took when cutting it we had to rescore all the areas to be folded. there was a team of about 5 (mothers, cousins and friends) on the job for about 2 weeks!

    she got married in front of this chapel
    https://picasaweb.google.com/117689295395327192735/InvitationsWedding#5501382337399884786

    which i tried to recreate.

    it had the intended effect because it sparked something in even the dreariest of guests when they opened it. pop-ups have that ability to bring out the child-like wide-eyed-wonder in most of us.

    now i\’m getting married and ive been working on something that springs up for that too. is a challenge but it’s fun!

    • 16 ShirA July 18, 2012 at 13:10

      Alisha that’s amazing!
      Where did the wedding take place? The invitations are beautiful!

      Good luck with your own!
      ShirA

      • 17 Alisha July 18, 2012 at 13:29

        Thanks

        The wedding was in Goa, India, which is where I am from. The chapel and the view from it (since it was on a hilltop) was very beautiful. Especially since the ceremony took place just before/during sunset.

  12. 18 Abby Valburg March 26, 2016 at 07:35

    Wow, I am in love with these! How did you get them laser cut? So pretty!

  13. 19 boudyboustany June 21, 2016 at 15:32

    hi shira,
    i’m interest of this beautiful wedding card for my wedding
    how i can get the cored draw file?
    best regards,
    Boudy

  14. 22 sophie August 4, 2016 at 19:25

    Hi, these are wonderful..any idea where i can order for wedding??


Leave a comment




My Name is ShirA. This is my personal blog, where I share my love for paper craft, hand made creations and all things beautiful.

You can contact me at:
shira.littlegreenbox@gmail.com

PLEASE do not publish photos, tutorials and text from this blog without my permission.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.